Go to content

Way of the cross

Description

In the 17th century, these timber crosses were erected on one of the steepest sections of the route to Cho?des. In 1728, the Capuchin father Albert de Dinant had them replaced by a large cross and a chapel. In 1873, the old stations too were replaced by 14 new ones, and they still form the way of the cross today. The present neoclassical reliefs by the Aachen sculptor Carl Burger were unveiled in 1913. Opposite the chapel that belongs to this way of the cross, a path leads to the belvedere with a view out over the town and its surroundings. A nature trail enables visitors to discover the impressive flora of this place, including Norway maples, larches and limes, walnut trees, beeches and ash trees.

Gallery

Contact details

Way of the cross
Gretedar
4960 Malmedy